Change & Transition and New Year’s Resolutions

9 Jan
This year I am DEFINITELY doing it!

This year I am DEFINITELY doing it!

New Year’s resolutions fail not because they are too ambitious.  They fail because we do not adequately plan so we can be successful.  In most cases, resolutions are about eating right, drinking less, exercising more or similar lifestyle oriented objectives.  Yup, its 2013 … I am DEFINITELY losing 20 lb.s this year.  But we  don’t, do we?

If an objective is worth achieving, it deserves a plan and not only that, a plan that has a chance of success.  How do you do that?

Before you go one step further, before one more hour has passed, before you consider doing anything else like go to the gym or throw out all that peanut butter, do this:

1. Identify the Problem that you are trying to solve.  “I need to lose 15 pounds”

2. Create a Picture of what it will look like once you solve the Problem.  “I will look fabulous.  I will have a new wardrobe and a new girlfriend!”

3. Generate a Plan.   This is critical.   You need to identify all the steps you will take.  First identify the components … exercise, diet, etc.  What gym will you join?  When will you go?  What spinning classes will you attend?  What will my girlfriend look like?

Second, identify the obstacles.  What will keep me from being successful?  Does that mean I have to stay away from the pub on Thursdays?  Are my food choices wrong?  Do I eat at times that are keeping me from being the newer, smaller me?  For every obstacle, have a solution.

Third, put it all together and give it to your wife, girlfriend, mother, friend, whatever and get input.  They will tell you if it is a plan that will work or not.

Fourth, implement.

4. Part.  You are the key ‘player’ in this, but I suggest you include a few more people who can help.  A buddy to work out with.  A friend to help you shop better.  Including people makes it harder to not follow the plan because you won’t want to disappoint them.

5. Progress.  Make up one of those United Way type thermometer diagrams and put it on the wall beside the fridge.  Mark the final goal and the incremental milestones.  Measure only once a week and mark it.

Write all this down.  Now.  Good.

Now that you are perfectly set up for success with your diet, take the same approach to that problem at work.  It works exactly the same way.

Let me know how that works for you.

Leave a comment